One Year On – The Rollercoaster Ride Continues!

Today marks the one year anniversary of the publishing of my debut novel Bridge Over the Atlantic. They say ‘Time flies when you’re having fun’ and I guess that, seeing as it feels like only yesterday, it must be true!  This year has seen some dramatic changes in my life. I became a full time writer firstly. That was something I never expected. But it has been an amazing experience.

My debut novel which was shortlisted in the contemporary romance category at The RoNAs

My debut novel which was shortlisted in the contemporary romance category at The RoNAs

I have appeared in national and local press and been featured on lots of blogs by fabulous bloggers who share my passion for books. It’s so wonderful to receive such positive support from people and I always try to reciprocate that support. I have made some really good friends out there in the writing world too, authors and readers alike and I love that I have so many people to communicate with about my passion. To be shortlisted for a national award by The Romantic Novelists Association was just astounding! I think after overcoming the shock I cried for an hour solid! The event that took place in London on March 17th was fantastic and I got to meet one of my favourite authors of all time – Lisa Jewell

Official pic of contemporary romance category shortlisted authors courtesy of The RNA

Official pic of contemporary romance category shortlisted authors courtesy of The RNA

Bridge Over the Atlantic will always be my novel ‘baby’. It was the first attempt I made at writing a book. I had no clue how it would go or if anyone would be in the slightest bit interested in what I had to say. But a year on and the response to the book—especially to Greg—has blown me away!

Quote from Greg - Bridge Over the Atlantic

Quote from Greg – Bridge Over the Atlantic

He probably should have his own fan club! When I wrote the book I always pictured Gerard Butler as Greg and it still is a dream of mine to one day see the book turned into a movie. I wonder if I could convince Mister Butler to play the part 😉 I suppose I have to be realistic though as I think every author probably shares that dream and it happens to so few books when you look at the great scheme of things. But I can still dream!

I have had some wonderful messages over this past year from people who have read Bridge Over the Atlantic and have fallen in love with Scotland and the Highlands as a result. It touches my heart to hear people telling me how my book reached them emotionally too as that was one of the things I was most nervous about; would the emotion come across?

The reviews—good and bad—have taught me so much and although it’s hard to read the more negative ones they have helped me to realise that I can’t please everyone. All I can do is try my best and write from the heart.

Editing has begun on the companion novel now and this will be out in October. That feels like such a long time away but I think we all know it will be here before we know it and so I won’t go wishing the time away.

Tag line pic from Bridge of Hope

Tag line pic from Bridge of Hope

What I will say finally is a HUGE thank you to my family, my friends and my publishing company 5 Prince Publishing for the continued encouragement and support.

Here are some of the images from this last year that tell the story of my journey as an author.

My debut novel which was shortlisted in the contemporary romance category at The RoNAs

My debut novel which was shortlisted in the contemporary romance category at The RoNAs

My first publicity shot taken by Craig at Craig Photography Studio

My first publicity shot taken by Craig at Craig Photography Studio

The stunning updated cover for my second novel

The stunning updated cover for my second novel

Me with Lisa Jewell

Me with Lisa Jewell at The RoNAs

RNA Awards Contemporary Romance Category 2014

RNA Awards Contemporary Romance Category 2014

Celebrating publishing

Celebrating publishing

My first book signing event!

My first book signing event!

Quote from Greg - Bridge Over the Atlantic

Quote from Greg – Bridge Over the Atlantic

Me and the fab cake I had at my launch party

Me and the fab cake I had at my launch party

My third novel The Girl Before Eve

My third novel The Girl Before Eve

The wonderful publishers who gave me a chance

The wonderful publishers who gave me a chance

The actual Bridge Over the Atlantic in the Highlands that inspired my debut novel

The actual Bridge Over the Atlantic in the Highlands that inspired my debut novel

2 responses to “One Year On – The Rollercoaster Ride Continues!

  1. Happy Anniversary hun! What a year eh? Absolutely love the new cover for Through the Glass as well, looks fantastic, lots of love Claire xx

Leave a Reply

