Guest Blog – Jon Rance – Publishing day for his second novel Happy Endings

It’s an absolute pleasure for me to have Jon Rance as a guest on my blog today!  We’ve been friends for a while now, thanks to social media, and he’s been a great source of knowledge and advice and for me.  His debut novel ‘This Thirtysomething Life’ is at the top of my list of favourite reads.  If you haven’t read it you really should!  I’ve been awaiting his second novel with excited anticipation and I will be downloading it as soon as possible!  Anyway, I will hand over to Jon now…

hodder2 Happy-Endings-front

Hello,

Firstly I’d like to thank Lisa for hosting me today. For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Jon Rance, author of the romantic comedy diary, This Thirtysomething Life, originally self-published before it was picked up by Hodder and Stoughton. I became friends with Lisa online and we’ve kept in touch ever since. She’s been a huge supporter of my work and I’ve tried to help her out too from time to time – not that she needs my help as she’s doing very well by herself. Today sees the release of my second novel Happy Endings and so here I am. Hello. It’s a pleasure.

I’ve always been interested in happiness as a theme. It is the ultimate theme in many ways because it’s universal to us all. We all want to be happy. Everything we do in life is geared towards happiness from our choice of careers, partners to the sort of lifestyle we opt for. Of course, the road to being happy is never an easy one and that’s what Happy Endings explores.

Happy Endings is the story of two couples; Kate and Ed and Jack and Emma; four late twentysomethings all searching for their own version of a happy ending in modern day London. Told uniquely from all of their perspectives, it follows them for six months through their many ups and downs, as each of them tries to find their own happy ending while dealing with past demons and current dilemmas. Kate wants to go travelling, while her long-term boyfriend Ed wants to settle down and get married. Jack wants to be a published writer for many reasons, but mainly to save his relationship with fiancée Emma. Emma wants to be an actress more than anything in the world, or at least that’s what she thinks.

I’ve tried to write a true ensemble piece with four unique and interesting characters with stories to tell. It was a real challenge because it meant creating four distinct voices, a page-turning plot and also writing two women from first person perspectives (tricky for a man to do well, I can tell you). So far the response I’ve had has been really positive, but it’s publication day and so that means the real readers, the people whose opinion matters most, get their hands on it. As always it’s nerve-wracking and terrifying, but hopefully it does as well as This Thirtysomething Life, if not better. I look forward to hearing from you.

A BIG thank you again to Lisa for having me on her lovely blog. Happy Endings is out today in eBook format with the paperback due out on October 10th.

Cheers,

Jon X

You can follow Jon on Twitter @JRance75 or on his website http://www.jonrance.com

2 responses to “Guest Blog – Jon Rance – Publishing day for his second novel Happy Endings

  1. Molly Ann Wishlade

    Hey Jon! Hey Lisa! 🙂
    Congrats on your second novel, Jon! It must be a great feeling.
    It sounds really interesting. As I write erotic romance, I have think from the hero’s perspective too and it can be a challenge! A good editor is essential! Lol!
    I think that you’re right about happiness. It’s something we strive for all our lives and sometimes it’s right under our noses the whole time.
    Good luck with the reviews and the sales!
    Molly xxx

Leave a Reply

