Scottish Inspiration

Those of you who know anything about me at all will know that I have a bit of an obsession with Scotland.  As the tag line states, “We came, we saw, we quite liked it so we moved.”  That was over a year ago now and I have to say that apart from missing my folks and our friends this relocation has been the best things we’ve ever done.

I think that I can safely say that moving here was what inspired me to begin writing in the first place.  Bridge Over the Atlantic, my debut novel has been well received and I couldn’t be happier.  The setting of the novel is dear to my heart and I am so happy that others have felt the same.

Okay so maybe our new home country isn’t renowned for it’s tropical temperatures but I can tell you that since the beginning of June we’ve had some fantastic weather!  So neenerneener!

Castle Stalker

I am going to be having a visit to the Highlands again this year.  All in the name of research you understand.  I shall take no pleasure whatsoever in the stunning coastal villages, the dramatic mountainous backdrops and the bracken covered moors with their muted colour palates.  Nor shall I enjoy sitting in the peace and quiet whilst I take in the surrounding vistas that feature in my second novel…honest…okay so maybe I will enjoy it a little…okay you got me I will LOVE every bloomin’ second!!

Loch Tay

My second novel Through the Glass which is out toward the end of Summer is set in Wester Ross in the North West Highlands.  It’s a place we have visited a couple of times.  The place is a haven for creative types and when you feast your eyes on the variety of scenery available up there you get a real understanding as to why photographers and artists favour the area.  The Torridon Hills make for such wonderful pictures that I wish I could paint!

Loch Shiel

Through the Glass is going through edits at the moment with 5 Prince Publishing.  It’s a contemporary romance novel about a man who thinks he has it all but as he discovers things aren’t always what they seem.  He relocates to Wester Ross to rebuild his life but is faced with new challenges that could make or break him.

Sadly, I have no photos to share with you of the setting but if you search the internet for images of Wester Ross or The Torridon Hills you will understand fully why I felt the urge to write about such a stunning location.  Instead today I am sharing photos of other places that I have enjoyed since relocating to this stunning country and I hope that you will check out my second novel.  I will put updates on this page as and when I have news.

Through the Glass

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

