A love affair with a tree…and writing my third novel

IMG_20130130_200333

Winter in Scotland is certainly something to behold. Have I said that before?  I’m pretty sure I have.  The cold here is seriously cold and the snow just makes everything so much more beautiful. Just when you think the snow is relenting and you snuggle up in bed you wake to find a blanket of white outside your window.
If you read my blog regularly you may know I am having a love affair with a particular tree. Okay, now I know how bizarre that sounds but this tree is so beautiful. I pass it on a regular basis and I have seen it at sunset, in the rain and in the fog. Every type of weather suits this tree and its surroundings. I am sharing the latest and my most favourite photo. My tree in the snow. Now the snow has all but melted on the snap but you can still get the idea. Sadly I was unable to get to the tree when the snow was really bad which saddened me somewhat. But what I saw when I visited was worth it regardless.

IMG_20130117_091054
Thanks to the sub-zero temperatures and icy paths I have been able to concentrate on writing. My first novel is still going through edits (and yes I am still enjoying that process!) my second novel is complete and I have edited it as much as I can and I am now 13k words into my next work in progress. I have three WIP’s at the moment. All at different stages. I am yet to settle on one to concentrate on solely. But as I write there is a particular story which is pulling me in.
I have said it so many times before but I will say it again…this new role of writer has snuck upon me and grabbed my attention. I am in its spell. And I want to remain there. Creating characters and feeling so connected to them is the most wonderful experience. I am addicted.
This week I had to have my portrait shot done for my book cover. Now, I am the type of person who hates to be on the wrong side of the lens. I much prefer to be the photographer and not the photographee! Having said that my lifelong friend and photographer, Craig, travelled all the way up to Scotland so that he could he could be the one to take this most important photograph for me. I am very pleased with the result. I won’t be too worried about the photo being on my book cover. This is such a relief.
Well, I had better go and upload this and get on with editing/writing. I hope you are all very well and enjoying February, regardless of the weather 🙂

Portrait

13 responses to “A love affair with a tree…and writing my third novel

  1. Oh, I love that tree too (this, with me, happens frequently).
    Three novels in progress! You will be very busy!

  2. “This new role of writer has snuck upon me and grabbed my attention. I am in its spell. And I want to remain there. Creating characters and feeling so connected to them is the most wonderful experience.”

    That’s exactly how I feel about writing =) Good post! Good luck on your novel-writing endeavors. At least you enjoy the editing process, that part makes me want to pull out of my hair by individual strands.

    • Don’t get me wrong Andrew, I have those moments too! But for the most part I am loving it. My editor has the patience of a saint! And knowing that the book is published in April makes me feel there is a light at the end of the tunnel 🙂 Best of luck with your writing too!

  3. That is a nice tree. The picture inspired me to click through into your blog. Three WIPs?? Wow, have fun juggling with the projects.

    Happy writing 🙂

  4. And looking forward to reading them!

    Great tree BTW….Baz

  5. Very nice photo, and I love your tree (although not the cold!) We are having a pretty cold snap here in Illinois in the states and it’s not really my cup of tea. Keep writing and best of luck.

    Paul R. Hewlett

  6. Awesome picture 🙂 Love the tree as well. I don’t have a love affair with a tree… but I do with a certain field. Unfortunately it is 3 hours away so I don’t get to see it as often as I’d like. Enjoy the winter and keep warm 🙂 I hope it’s not as cold there as it is here most days.

  7. I’m having a love affair with a tree and a few shrubs… 😉
    I know what you mean; they can become so dear…!
    Happy writing and editing…

Leave a Reply

