More Christmas Shopping in Edinburgh?!!…..

2012-12-16 12.36.05

The German Market is currently residing in the centre of Edinburgh so in the spirit of Christmas, Hubby, Puddleduck and myself headed on down to see what all the fuss was about!  The train park and ride isn’t on during Sundays and so we tried out the bus park and ride this time.  It was a doddle and we arrived in the big city around 10am; ready to shop!  We were armed with a list of several gift requirements still to get for others, plus the added pressure of buying for each other!  After an egg and sausage  Mcmuffin  Hubby went one way and Puddleduck and I went the other.  We arranged to meet back up at the Scott monument at 12 noon.

PD and I were on the hunt for shoes so that she had something to wear with her lovely dress for her school dance.  Boy what a feat that was!  I have never known such a picky girl!  I am not sure who was more excited about the dance; her or me!  Over the past month or so she has been learning what they call ‘Social Dance’ at school.  Basically this is made up of all the dances that I couldn’t master at the first ceilidh we ever attended (see my post ‘Jigs, Giggles and Haggis’ for more!).  And I am proud to say that PD does not take after either of her two-left-footed parents.  She has been periodically showing me what she has learned and I have to say I am impressed!

2012-12-16 12.53.03

Anyway, shoes – check.  Mission one complete.  Then it was on to buying for Hubby.  I have a special gift planned for him, which I will not elaborate on until after Christmas, seeing as he reads this blog but I wanted to buy him a few other bits to go along with the surprise.  I have to admit to being a little disappointed with what I ended up with but hopefully I will be alone in that sentiment on Christmas morning.  And the main gift I will present him with is one which hopefully will outshine all the others (more later on this).  Not to Hubby…IT IS NOT A LAND ROVER!!!!

2012-12-16 12.53.39

Once we met up with Hubby it was time to experience the German market.  The myriad delicious aromas bounced through my senses setting my taste buds on full alert.  I wasn’t technically hungry but pretzels, donuts, coffee, etc were making me think that I was!  In actual fact the overwhelming feeling I succumbed to was one of claustrophobia.  I don’t usually suffer from this but there were so many people crammed into such a small space that I began to feel a little panicked.  We broke through to a place where people were fewer and watched the ice-skaters on the temporary rink at the bottom of the valley garden.

2012-12-16 12.36.26

Hubby took PD on the big wheel that had appeared, looming out of the skyline beside the Scott monument and I am showing a couple of images taken whilst they were up there.  Being someone who is not that comfortable with heights I was happier to keep my feet planted on terra firma and I had the honour of holding the coats and purchases.  They had fun though.

After a good few hours of experiencing the quieter parts of the Edinburgh shopping frenzy and oohing and aahing at the pretty lights and trimmings of the capital, we returned home feeling that we had been quite successful in our shopping expedition.  The trouble is…guess who has to do the wrapping?!

8 responses to “More Christmas Shopping in Edinburgh?!!…..

  1. Sounds like a very interesting day. I love the pictures, thanks for sharing. Being as I’m from the US these are very fun to see. I’ve just found your blog & am finding it fun t read. Have a great day & happy holidays.

    Paul R. Hewlett

  2. What a wonderful day’s outing..!
    I do so appreciate what you say regarding the ‘wrapping’… I have some wonderful gifts sitting waiting for me to wrap them! And yet this isn’t a problem for some. My daughter loves to wrap gifts as much as she does to find/buy them…. To receive a wrapped gift from her is almost as good as the gift itself. She lovingly uses beautiful paper, baubles and beads with beautiful little cards and ribbons; it really is a pleasure to receive.

  3. Edinburgh at Christmas is wonderful – Merry Christmas and a fabulous New Year

Leave a Reply

