A Dream Come True

2012-11-18 11.52.25

When I moved to Scotland seven months ago I honestly never imagined the many significant changes that would occur.  Looking back over this last seven months is something I do with a huge grin on my face.  I truly believe that this is where I am meant to be.

If you have been a follower of my blog you may be aware that I completed my debut novel after making this move.  I discovered that I had the time to apply myself properly and spent hours in front of the laptop getting these ideas down on ‘paper’ with my wonderful Hubby supporting me and offering advice along the way.  And so what was, initially, a series of ideas and notes became a fully-fledged manuscript.

Back in October Hubby and I spent a romantic weekend away in the Highlands where part of the story is based, all in the name of research I hasten to add!  We walked in the footsteps of the characters and I was able to add to the descriptions to enable the reader to feel closer to the locations.  The book was finally complete.  I could breathe a sigh of relief.

The next part involved getting volunteers to read said manuscript and offer their opinions.  Luckily I have some wonderful friends and family who jumped at the chance to give my book a go and the feedback was, thankfully, positive.

Around the second week in October I was able to begin submitting my manuscript to Literary Agents and Publishers in the hope that someone would love my story and characters and believe in it enough to want to publish it.  But this road was a tough one.  I received a few rejections and felt incredibly disheartened that something I had put my heart and soul into was being turned away.  But it’s just the way things are in publishing.

Through social media networking I was able to meet other authors who provided encouragement and support, giving me the impetus to carry on and keep trying.  I’m so thankful to them all for this. (Allan, Jan, Jon, Sooz, Bev, Andrew, etc)  I have met some very lovely and extremely talented people.

So, where did this all lead?  Well, this morning I have signed a publishing contract with 5 Prince Publishing in the USA and I’m so excited to be working with them.  I am very thankful to them for giving me this opportunity and they have been wonderfully supportive with me during the process of signing contracts.

I know that it’s a fairly long process as there will be editing to do and a book cover to design and so you won’t be able to actually get your hands on a copy until the New Year but I cannot tell you how excited I am that one day I will be able to actually hold a copy of my very own novel in paperback in my hands and see it on my bookshelf!

I want to thank everyone who reads my blog and takes the time to comment on what I have posted.  And I want to thank all the people who have supported me in this amazing adventure!  Time to crack open the bubbly methinks!

5 Prince Logo

18 responses to “A Dream Come True

  1. I am so, so and again so proud of you for this. I’ll have a little (ok hand might slip into large) drink to you tonight! Love you lots

  2. Congratulations! I look forward to reading this book of yours, especially because I love all things Scottish!

  3. Congratulations and well done!

  4. Congratulations and all the best for the future, here’s to hoping its the first of many. 🙂

  5. There you are ‘an author’…!
    Well done to you; a befitting end, me thinks.. 😉
    Enjoy the champagne, and a ‘sip’ for me… 🙂

  6. Awesome, m’Lady !… great work… now for the next one ! #TBSU

  7. I intend to follow my dreams – and I have put several things in motion in recent weeks – this time next year I aim to be pursuing that very plan…. we shall see…. Merry Christmas Oh published one

  8. Congratulations on your book! I’ll be looking forward to reading it. Hopefully, I’ll make it to Scotland one day and get my copy autographed. 🙂 I am enjoying reading your blog, and learning more about life in Scotland. Good work! And Merry Christmas!

    • Hi Amber and thank you very much. I am so glad you are enjoying reading my blog! And once my book is released and you visit Scotland I would be happy to sign it for you 🙂 Lol! Never thought I would be saying things like that!

      • Look forward to it! 🙂 I’m a newly self-published indie author, and I know things can be painfully slow at times. But keep heart, it’s all worth the work. That moment when you hold your book in your hands will be glorious! And soon, you’ll be getting writer’s cramp from all the autographs! 🙂

      • Congratulations on publishing! I am really looking forward to holding my book! I will have to check yours out!

Leave a Reply

