Our Scottish Christmas begins….in November!

Rather blurry!

It’s still November and I love my first Scottish Christmas already!

This weekend has been rather an interesting one to say the least.  On Saturday I had a stand at a local craft fair to sell my little sign creations.  It had been organised in advance and rather pleasantly, lunch was to be provided by the venue!

I have to say that my little stall looked rather fab with the extra Christmas adornments purchased when I was back in Yorkshire shopping with my lovely friend.  My theme is purple and silver, both colours lending themselves quite nicely to Christmas.  I had little silver Christmas trees and a line of felt snow along the front of my jewel purple table cloth.

My little stall

There were carol singers from a local school performing all the favourites and a very well-spoken Santa made an appearance!  Puddleduck had a whale of time and I have to say her sales patter beats mine hands down!  I was very proud.

The only downside I can really think of is that the stall was outside and I was absolutely freezing!  By the end of it I couldn’t feel my toes!  But the venue staff were lovely and the banter between stall holders was fun.

Sunday saw us pay a visit to a local stately home for their annual Christmas fair.  When we walked around and looked at the lovely local crafts on display I wished I had thought in advance to book myself in!  I will put that on my to-do list for next year.  We bought a few local treats and had our first taste of ‘tablet jam’.  Tablet being a Scottish sweet, rather like fudge.  The stall holder had made this rather delicious fudge into something that could be spread on oatcakes and oh my word, was it scrumptious?!

Sunday afternoon was a trip to a local town where there was to be a parade down the high street.  This was simply magical.  I used to love the lighting of the Christmas tree in our old village but this was just spectacular.  We paraded down the high street, following the pipe band.  I have to admit at this point, to getting rather emotional at the pipe music and even now when I think back it still brings the sting of happy tears to my eyes.  Santa followed the pipe band in his golf cart (of course, it’s Scotland.  What else?!).  And following this we all went into the community hall for carols, mulled wine and mince pies.

If this is just a taste of what is to come from my first Christmas as an honorary Scots Lass then bring it on!  I am head over heels in love with my not-so-new home all over again.

Leave a Reply

