Chasing The Sunset

Now this really is a very short one!  Honestly!!  I just had to share the photo I took on the way home tonight.  I think I have said before that one of the things I love about living in Scotland is the fact that around every corner, no matter which way I choose to go, I always spot something beautiful; whether it’s a colourful sunrise…a sunset or simply low hanging mist over the hills and fields.  Tonight was a stunner!

Chasing the sunset

Hubby and I were on our way home from a rare dinner out, just the two of us, when I noticed the sunset.  The sky was ablaze with myriad spectacular colours.  The brightest ruby red bled into cerise pink, then titian, purple, violet and deep dusky blue.  It literally took my breath away.

We had to chase the sunset until we reached a safe place to pull over so that I could take a photograph.  Sadly the image in no way does justice to the sight my eyes beheld but I hope you can use the power of your imagination to visualise how vivid and dramatic the scene was.

The tree in the picture is a tree I have photographed before on the same route but during the day (see my previous blog entry).  Because of the placement of the sun on both occasions the tree has always been in silhouette.  I do love this tree.  It has such a beautiful majestic shape.  I smile every time I pass it and I can’t wait to photograph it in the snow!!

I simply had to share this with you all.  I couldn’t be selfish and keep it a secret.

9 responses to “Chasing The Sunset

  1. Truly beautiful, I have such a thing for sunsets and light in general, no two are the same. Whenever nature displays such a dramatic effect everything seems somehow heightened. I need to get more in the habit of capturing sights like this when I’m out and about, too often am I without a camera to snap them!

    • Thank you for your lovely comments. I am quite honoured that they come fro such a talented photographer as yourself. Sadly this was taken on my phone as I too was wthout camera. Very disappointing as I amj sure it could’ve been much better!

  2. ciao! luvFAB blog.
    thebesrdressup

  3. Pingback: Sunset 28 October 2012 | An Ever Changing Sky

  4. Pingback: Sunset 29 October 2012 | An Ever Changing Sky

  5. Pingback: An african Sycamore « Akaptar's World

  6. Pingback: Red Mist Sunset « INSPIRE YOUR HEART

  7. Pingback: A deep breath in and ……… « Greatpoetrymhf’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

