Lady in waiting…………

Journey to The Highlands

Ok, so I have never been any good at waiting.  Ask anyone I know and who knows me.  They will most definitely concur.  I can support others whilst they wait and try to quell their nerves but when it is I who must play the waiting game….forget it.  All sense and ability to think straight?  Out the window!

My newly completed novel has now been submitted to a small number of literary agents/publishers and I have to say that, at this point, I am chewing at the skin around my nails.  It may take weeks for me to get any kind of response or feedback!  How will I cope?

Loch Linnhe

Distraction tactics are what usually work for me.  I will, therefore, be blogging, creating new signs for my craft business (may even do one about waiting!) and absorbing myself in my friends, family and lovely location.

The only other thing I can assimilate this situation to, is the waiting involved in moving to Scotland.  Moving house is never a speedy process and once we had found the house we wanted, of course, me being me, I wanted to move yesterday!  The whole process took around four or five months which, I am told, is relatively quick in house-moving terms but it felt like an eternity!

To make matters worse the people we were buying from would not officially

Loch Tay

accept our offer until our own sale had exchanged!  It’s a wonder I wasn’t bald!  The whole process of buying through a totally different system was incredibly stressful and being someone who has suffered from anxiety in the not too distant past, my stress levels were pretty much through the roof!  This continued into moving day.  And to top it off I had to drive my new (new to me not brand new) Land Rover Freelander, Rosie (because she is pretty and rose coloured!) hundreds of miles north!  Please bear in mind that up to that point I was THE most reluctant motorway driver you could ever wish to meet!    Oooh, I was such a delight to be around at that time!  All that said, I would do it again tomorrow if I thought I would be as happy as I am now.

My task now, is to remain faithful to my book and to remember the positive outcome of the last time I was waiting for something this important to me.  I must not lose focus on what I set out to achieve.  And that is to get my story out into the public domain in the best possible way.  It’s not about money (I keep reminding Hubby that I may only be able to buy him a matchbox Landy! I am being realistic.) it’s about me telling a story that I hope people will love.  I must ensure that I continue to believe in my book even if others don’t.

I am not going to give too much away at this point, not even the title!  But suffice it to say I believe it’s a story women will relate to in many ways.  It’s set in the most beautiful part of Scotland, obviously!  I love my characters and want others to feel the same; feel their anxieties and frustrations, loves and losses.  Those who have read it in its rawest form have told me that they cried and laughed in all the right places so perhaps I have done something right?!

The hardest thing I am expecting is dealing with rejections.  I don’t cope too well with those under normal circumstances and so I am really having to brace myself!  And at the end of the day I must also bear in mind that, if no one wants to publish my book, it’s a major achievement to have written it in the first place and I have to say I have a certain amount of pride in that.  And what’s more, I was only given the opportunity to do so by the move we made north of the border and our change in lifestyle.  One again…..watch this space!

P.S.  Todays photos are of the Highlands and they are there just because……. 🙂

Under The Bridge – The Buckle

14 responses to “Lady in waiting…………

  1. Great Stuff, And A Nice Collections Of Nature ,,,,,,

  2. its journey of nature,,, Awesome thinking ,,,,,,,,,,,,,

  3. I know jealousy isn’t a very attractive trait, but I don’t mind admitting that I am extreeeeeemely jealous of you right now Mrs H! Great blog (as always) and wishing you all the luck in the world with your novel – can’t wait for the chance to read it xxx

  4. According To Theame Its A Nice Blog With Diffrent Shads Picture ,,

  5. Follow your heart and you won’t go wrong, good luck with the book. x

Leave a Reply

