Floods, Friends and Breathing Through Cotton Wool…..

Well, the rain has been causing some terrible problems.  Floods have been a major issue in many areas, including my own locale, and my heart goes out to all those whose lives, properties and businesses have been affected.  It’s shocking when we see what terrible damage can be caused by sudden heavy downpours and strong winds.  The weather is a mighty and uncontrollable entity, without doubt.

Damp weather can have a negative effect on health too; certainly for asthma sufferers such as myself.  I say this as I know how much I have been struggling over the last few weeks.  Struggling for breath is quite unnerving to say the least.  I would describe the feeling as being akin to having a small dog/cat sitting on your chest; or rather like making futile attempts to breathe through a heap of cotton wool.  Even minimal amounts of exercise can be exhausting.  And the relentless coughing is not conducive to a good night’s sleep!

Thankfully, a good friend insisted I go to see my G.P today and so, once again, I find myself on steroids and anti-biotics and feeling very sorry for myself  *sniff*.

Asthma can be so very serious and I hope others with the condition are not as silly as me.  It’s not sensible to wait for treatment for fear of being seen as a hypochondriac!  I must get over this worry.  Doctors are there to help and I should remember that!  The trouble is I am not very good at asking for help.  Not because I think I am superwoman or invincible; quite the opposite.  I don’t like to make my problems into issues for others.  So it’s easier not to.

The annoying thing is that I am now unable to get up to my workshop!  Grrr!  It’s not a million miles to the end of my garden but it’s far enough to see me dizzy and gasping for breath.  So I am taking a break (albeit a short one!).  Hence my need to do something else!

Oooh this is not bright and breezy like my normal blogs!  So, on a lighter note, An image to lighten the mood!it’s times like this when true friends come into their own.  Before moving to Scotland I had a wonderful network of friends and family support around me and I miss seeing them all terribly (out of sight in no way means out of mind).  I was, in the back of my mind, afraid of not having anything like that when I moved; thankfully I was wrong.  Today I was driven to the doctor’s surgery by one lovely friend, another did my school run for me, another brought me delicious home-made soup and another is taking Puddleduck to her dancing lesson and then having her round for tea!  Wow!  Thank you all, you know who you are and I hope you know how much I appreciate it.

Considering Hubby is stranded in Yorkshire due to the flooding it is wonderful to know that I have such caring people near-by as well as at the other end of the phone.  I have been inundated with texts and calls from concerned people which makes me feel so very fortunate.

My reason for going on about all this?  Well, firstly asthma is a frightening illness which can get much worse if not taken seriously and maybe by putting this in black and white myself I will drive this home and make myself realise that I need to take better care.

And secondly, anyone considering moving such a long way from home and family, either by choice or otherwise, should take heart, if you make the effort to fit in and make friends it will happen!  Reaching out and making friends is vital to one’s health and mental state.  After all no man is an island (John Donne, 1624).  There is a beautiful quote about friendship that I love, sadly I don’t know who said it first but they are so right.  And this stands for friends new and old,

“Friends are angels who lift us to our feet when our wings have forgotten how to fly.”

2 responses to “Floods, Friends and Breathing Through Cotton Wool…..

  1. Asthma can be much more debilitating than many people think. My husband and younger son both suffer from it. It sounds like you have lovely people around you to help and you’re so right about good friends being vital. Take care 🙂

  2. Thank you for your lovely comments. I’m sorry to hear that your hubby and son suffer the same terribly symptoms. My heart goes out to them. I am very nonchalant when it comes to my asthma situation, as I am with another condition I have. I think it’s a case of “if I don’t take it serioulsy it can’t be serious!” which of course, deep down I know is rather silly! This week has made me sit up and think!

Leave a Reply

