‘You’re my best friend.’ Freddy Mercury

I hope that, like me, most (if not all) of you reading this (who happen to be married or in a relationship), can say that your partner is your best friend.  That person should be the one you can tell anything to; ask advice or an opinion from (and from whom you are prepared to accept and honest answer).  The one who will make you laugh during an argument (however much you protest when they do), tell you how gorgeous you are when you feel it the least and the one who you are just be happy to be around (for the most part – I mean, no one is perfect and we all get crabby from time to time!).

Although in our early forties, Hubby and I have been together for over twenty years and we married whilst relatively young but, WARNING, I am going to get gushy (get a bucket quick) and say how much I adore him and how my love for him has grown stronger as time has gone on.  We have, naturally had our ups and downs but regardless of that we have stuck together.  Now you may be wondering what this has got to do with our move to Scotland.  The answer is this – everything!

Hubby and I discuss everything, as every couple should, and this move was certainly no different.  Let’s face it, upping sticks and moving to another country is not a decision to be taken lightly, nor one to be taken at all if only half of you want to go.  So, not only do we discuss everything but we are on the same wavelength when it comes to decision making (and we scarily have exactly the same sense of humour!!  Apparently you live with ‘em until you get like ‘em!  But that’s beside the point.)  Our first musings on moving to Scotland, when we were expecting it to be some time off in the future, were centred on the Highlands.  We fell in love with the area many years ago and as I have said before, we always made a special effort to drive the 7 hour plus journey to visit as often as possible.

One of favourite places in the world - GlenfinnanOne of our favourite places is Glenfinnan.  The monument of Bonnie Prince Charlie stands proud at the head of Loch Shiel and the vista beyond is simply breath taking.  We could both sit for hours and absorb the sound of the rippling water as it washes over the gravelly rocks at the loch’s edge.  We have so many happy family photos taken at the edge of that particular Loch and it’s one of the places where we feel closest to Hubby’s Mum.  I am looking forward to venturing over that way again very soon; hopefully in the next few weeks!  Another favourite is a place everyone should try to visit!  Cocoa Mountain at Durness.  Way up north but no joke, the BEST hot chocolate I have ever had in my life.  And I have had ALOT of hot chocolate!

I digress….We decided, eventually that moving so far north was not possible due to work and family.  But at least we no longer have such a protracted journey to get to Highland as we were used to.  So we have the best of both worlds in our new location.

One of Hubby’s priorities for the move was to have access to open spaces and fresh air for walking the mutts.  It feels good to know that we have beaches, forests and hills only a short distance away (and some virtually on the doorstep).  He tells me that he feels a sense of euphoria when he arrives home to our new place; that he feels his worries melt away.  I am so happy that this is the case.  We have been through a lot over the past few years and he deserves to be happy and relaxed.

Recently we made an impromptu visit to the beach down the road.  We took a picnic, courtesy of the supermarket en-route.  Hubby and Puddleduck went rock-pooling whilst I sat reading my Kindle.  It was sooo relaxing!  Then they found a large tree branch that had washed up and proceeded to decorate it like a Christmas tree with bits of sea weed, rope and old fishing nets they had found.  They had whale of a time!  It was good to spend some quality family time together; something we sadly lacked before we moved.

I have to say that I am very grateful for the opportunity Hubby has given me.  Living here means that I can concentrate on my new business and other creative projects (of which there are many right now!) whilst he brings home the bacon.  He is very supportive of me in all of my creative ventures.  Bless him, he even cuts out my MDF cupcake and Christmas tree shapes (apparently he’s afraid I will end up fingerless if I attempt to do it!).  I do treat him to some hearty meals these days, however, by way of thanks.

To have made this move with my best friend in the entire world and to be sharing the excitement of being in our favourite place with Puddleduck too is wondrous.   We still have to pinch ourselves every so often!

2 responses to “‘You’re my best friend.’ Freddy Mercury

  1. Awesome post! I’m married to my best friend too and it’s so wonderful. We’re not moving to Scotland, but nobody’s perfect! 😉

Leave a Reply

